Manuel Forcano

Manuel Forcano (Barcelona, 1968) is a poet, a Hebraist and a catalan translator. He studied Hebrew at the University of Barcelona, in the Kibbutz Ha-Oguen at the University of Haifa and at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He completed his education in Syria studying Arabic at the University of Damascus and in Egypt, at the International Language Institute in Cairo. With a doctorate in Semitic Philology from UB, he has worked as professor of Hebrew, Aramaic and history of the Ancient Near East at the University of Barcelona from 1996 to 2004. He has also been professor of Hebrew at the Association for Cultural Relations Catalonia-Israel (1992-98) and at the University of Girona (1995). He teaches History of the Ancient Near East at the Clos Archaeological Foundation, in the Egyptian Museum of Barcelona. During 1995 and 1996 he was the official translator for the Israeli consulate in Barcelona. He participated to the European Union Project Manumed (2000-2004) for cataloging Syrian and Arab manuscripts in the countries on the southern shore of the Mediterranean, with active missions to Aleppo and Damascus. He also adapted baroque opera libretti for the Reial Companyia Òpera de Cambra (Royal Chamber Opera Company). Since 2004 he works as a documentary filmmaker and playwright at the Fundació Centre Internacional de Música Antiga Jordi Savall (International Centre for Antique Music Jordi Savall Foundation). He is part of the group known as the “Unstoppable.” He is an experienced translator from Hebrew, Arabic and English, and translated Israeli poets such as Yehuda Amichai and Pinkhas Sade. He displays a vast cultural background sweeping from the Greek and Latin classics through to modern writers such as Kavafis and E. M. Forster (whom Forcano has also translated).

His poetry collections:

  • D’un record a l’altre, 1992 (see the volume 4 poetes 92; Amadeu Oller Award)
  • Les mans descalces, 1992 (Josep López Picó Poetry Award)
  • De nit, 1999
  • Com un persa, 2000 (Tivoli Europa Giovani International Award)
  • Corint, 2000 (Jocs Florals de Barcelona Award)
  • El tren de Bagdad, 2003 (Carles Riba Award)
  • Llei d’estrangeria, 2008
  • Estàtues sense cap, 2013
  • Ciència exacta, 2014 (Miquel de Palol Poetrt Award)